florida is a no-fault auto insurance state. This means drivers must have Personal Injury Protection (PIP) insurance to pay for their medical expenses and other accident-related damages, regardless of who caused the collision. The no-fault law also places restrictions on when you can seek compensation from another party.
what are florida’s insurance requirements?
according to the florida department of highway safety and motor vehicles (flhsmv), drivers must have a minimum of $10,000 in pip. Drivers must also have a minimum of $10,000 in Property Damage Liability (PDL) to pay for damage they cause to someone else’s vehicle or property.
Reading: What is florida no fault insurance
Florida does not require Bodily Injury Liability (BDL) coverage (with the exception of taxicabs and drivers convicted of driving under the influence of alcohol), but you can purchase an optional policy for additional protection. Other optional policies you can add include comprehensive coverage, collision coverage, and underinsured/uninsured motorist protection.
what does pip pay?
Under Florida Statutes § 627.736, PIP insurance pays 80 percent of all reasonable and necessary medical expenses arising from your car accident. this includes emergency transportation, hospital stays, surgical procedures, nursing services, dental work and more. however, to receive coverage, you must seek initial treatment within 14 days of your accident.
pip also provides 60 percent of your gross wages and future loss of earning capacity if you are unable to work due to your injuries. the statute states that insurance companies must pay these disability benefits every two weeks.
if your loved one died from an injury in an accident, pip will provide $5,000 in death benefits per covered person. the insurance company pays these benefits in addition to coverage for the decedent’s final medical expenses and lost wages.
To consult with an experienced car accident attorney today, call 855-686-6752
when can you seek compensation from another party?
If you have serious injuries, you may be able to recover compensation from the party that caused your accident. This is done through a claim against your liability insurance or through a personal injury lawsuit.
remember, pip limits payments for your medical expenses, lost wages, and death benefits. If you are seeking compensation from another driver, you may also seek damages to your property and damages for pain and suffering from accident-related complications that reduce your quality of life, including depression, anxiety, and loss of mobility.
to win prizes from another party, you must prove negligence
To win a settlement or verdict, you must show that the negligent actions of another party caused your accident. In the case of another driver, negligent actions may include speeding, drinking and driving, texting and driving, running a light or stop sign, or traveling in the wrong lane.
If your accident was the result of a vehicle problem, such as a bad tire or bad brakes, the negligent party may be the vehicle manufacturer or an auto parts manufacturer. Liability may also lie with a government entity or other entity in charge of the road where your accident occurred if negligent road maintenance or design caused your accident.
How can a car accident lawyer help with your case?
Our car accident attorneys can help you seek a settlement through your own pip insurance provider. If you are eligible to seek compensation from an at-fault party, we can also help you with your liability insurance claims. us:
- submit your claims
- complete and submit insurance documentation
- manage and meet insurance deadlines
- contact insurance company representatives on your behalf
- gather evidence showing negligence for your liability claims (this may include your medical records, eyewitness statements, and expert testimony)
- fight for the maximum amount of compensation possible for your accident
- take your case to civil court, if necessary
florida statute of limitations
It is important to start the insurance claims process as soon as you can. If you are unable to obtain satisfactory compensation through settlement and have the right to sue, you are subject to Florida’s statute of limitations.
Under Florida Statutes § 95.11, you have four years to file a personal injury case and two years to file a wrongful death claim. While there are circumstances that could lengthen or shorten your time window, generally, if the statute expires, you will not be able to take your case to civil court.
Keep in mind that a car accident attorney at our firm should have the time to investigate your accident, gather evidence, and negotiate a settlement with the insurers.
click to contact our florida attorneys today
contact bogin, munns & munns for help
bogin, munns & Munns has been helping Florida accident victims seek justice for more than 40 years. We work with people from all walks of life and have represented individuals and families, as well as Fortune 500 companies. No matter how large or small the client, we pride ourselves on our service.
To learn more about how we can help you with your car accident case, call our offices at 407-578-1334.
call or text 855-686-6752 or fill out our consultation request form