Driving Without Insurance in Florida | Bankrate

Florida roadways are relatively crowded with residents and tourists alike, so accidents can be common. Unfortunately, Florida also has one of the highest estimated percentages of uninsured drivers in the country, with more than 20% of those on the road driving without insurance, according to the Insurance Information Institute (Triple-I). So what happens when you drive without insurance in the Sunshine State? bankrate insurance experts can show you.

florida auto insurance laws

Florida auto insurance laws are clear. Basic laws require residents to carry no-fault car insurance. this means residents must purchase the following types of coverage and limits to drive legally:

Reading: What happens if you drive without insurance in florida

  • $10,000 personal injury protection (pip)
  • $10,000 property damage liability per accident
  • Florida is one of the few states that does not technically require bodily injury liability coverage. however, you cannot omit this coverage and drive legally. You must prove to the state, through a variety of pre-approved methods, that you can pay for injuries you might cause to another party. Most people choose to purchase bodily injury coverage to comply with this “financial responsibility law,” and if you do purchase coverage, these are the minimum limits:

    • $10,000 bodily injury liability per person
    • $20,000 bodily injury liability per accident
    • See also: How Many Employees Do You Need To Get Group Health Insurance?

      These types of coverage must be obtained before you can register your vehicle in Florida.

      In addition, the insurance must be purchased from someone legally licensed to sell auto insurance in Florida. As long as you have a vehicle registered in Florida, you must maintain automobile coverage, no matter where your vehicle is physically located. the only exception to this law is if you are a member of the armed forces. Lastly, if you move out of state, you must surrender your plates and registration before canceling your insurance policy.

      Where Florida auto insurance laws gain complexity is with the no-fault laws. Florida is one of 12 no-fault states in the country. This means that regardless of who causes an accident, your PIP will initially pay for your injuries and those of your passenger. pip also pays for other costs related to injuries you may sustain in an accident, such as the cost of necessary household services and lost wages.

      penalties for driving without insurance in florida

      See also: Autism Screening Cost without Insurance | Mira

      The penalties for driving without insurance in Florida are severe and include license suspension and reinstatement fees. You may also have points assessed on your license and could even face jail time, depending on the specific circumstances of your violation.

      have an accident without insurance

      Getting into an accident without insurance in Florida can be complicated. Since Florida is a no-fault state, the other driver’s PIP should initially provide you with coverage, even if you are the one who caused the accident. If the other driver also has uninsured motorist coverage, you may be able to get reimbursed for that coverage as well.

      Although Florida is a no-fault state, that doesn’t mean drivers cause an accident and face no repercussions. remember that you still have to prove to the state that you can pay for the injuries you cause someone else; That means you can’t expect another driver’s pip to pay for the injuries you cause and not face any penalties. If you don’t have insurance to help protect your finances and pay for the injuries and damages you caused, you may face a lawsuit, court costs, wage garnishments, and more. You’ll also face consequences for simply driving without insurance, including license reinstatement fines.

      If you are caught driving without insurance, whether or not you cause an accident, you may be required to carry an SR-22 form. This is a form that an insurance company files with the state to show that you have insurance. To reinstate your license, you may need to purchase an insurance policy and file the form on your behalf. If you were intoxicated when you were found to be driving without insurance, you may need a Form FR-44, which may also require you to have higher liability limits.

      See also: How to Find Someone’s Insurance Info

      frequently asked questions

        • what is the best car insurance in florida?
          • how much does auto insurance cost in florida?
            • how can i save money on auto insurance in florida?

Related Posts

How does roof insurance claim work

How Roofing Insurance Claims Work: What Contractors Need to Know

Understanding how roofing insurance claims work will help your insurance restoration business succeed and grow. By knowing the ins and outs of insurance, you can ensure a…

4 reasons your insurance company can cancel your auto policy – MarketWatch

Can they really cancel my policy without asking? Your insurance company can cancel your policy, but they must provide written notice before doing so. the amount of…

Best Cheap Health Insurance in Wisconsin 2022 – ValuePenguin

affordable health insurance is available in wisconsin through the state’s marketplace. Finding the best health insurance plan for you can be difficult, so to help you get…

Tesla Insurance Review: Costs and Coverage (2022)

car insurance for tesla models tends to be quite expensive with rates typically higher than the national average of $1730 per year for comprehensive coverage. A 2017…

How to read a life insurance policy

How to read your life insurance policy | Insure.com

A life insurance policy is a contract between an insurance company and an individual. there are a variety of policies, lots of riders, and many choices to…

The role of insurance providers in supporting treatment and management of hepatitis C patients | BMC Health Services Research | Full Text

hcv epidemiology Today, one of the most important global public health challenges is represented by the hepatitis C virus (HCV), which imposes a dramatically relevant burden in…