Under Illinois law, driving without valid insurance is charged under 625 ILCS 5/3-707 (operation of uninsured motor vehicle), which requires that every driver on the road has the minimum vehicle liability insurance coverage required. If you are ticketed for driving without valid insurance, it is likely that you will be required to appear in court. The attorneys at The Davis Law Group, P.C. have represented countless drivers charged with operating an uninsured motor vehicle.
driving without insurance is considered a misdemeanor in most scenarios, but it carries serious consequences. A first conviction for this offense will subject the driver to a three-month driver’s license suspension by the Illinois Secretary of State with a mandatory minimum fine of $500 ($1,000 maximum fine) plus court costs and a $1,000 reinstatement fee. $100. An additional six-month license suspension will be imposed for anyone convicted of driving without insurance while currently suspended for driving without insurance.
Reading: How much is a no insurance ticket in illinois
See also: The Cheapest Car Insurance Rates in North Carolina – ValuePenguin
A third or subsequent conviction will subject the driver to minimum mandatory fines of $1,000 plus court costs. in addition, a reinstatement fee of $100 must be paid to the secretary of state to end a mandatory suspension of insurance.
Operation of a motor vehicle without insurance, resulting in bodily injury to another person, is charged as a misdemeanor.
purchasing insurance after receiving a ticket for driving without valid insurance is not a defense in court. however, showing valid proof of vehicle insurance at the time of the court date may allow you to obtain court supervision and avoid driver’s license suspension, provided you have not previously been convicted of this offense. this is true whether you have previously received court supervision or a conviction for driving without insurance. in these circumstances, a fine of $100 plus court costs will be assessed.
See also: How to Cancel a Life Insurance Policy | Bankrate
A driver who receives court supervision or a third or subsequent conviction for driving without valid insurance will be required to obtain SR-22 insurance from their insurance company for a period of three years. SR-22 insurance is a special type of insurance that is reported monthly to the Secretary of State. As a result, failure to maintain SR-22 insurance for the required time period imposed by the Secretary of State will result in license suspension.
All drivers must carry their current insurance card in their vehicle at all times. Illinois law also allows a driver to use their smartphone or tablet to show proof of car insurance. however, a charge of driving without valid insurance will generally require an in-person court appearance. therefore, if you are having difficulty accessing your proof of insurance or the officer gets impatient and gives you a ticket, you will need to appear before a judge to address the situation.
the traffic lawyers of davis law group, p.c. We represent clients in traffic related matters in Illinois and the Chicago area, including Cook, Lake and Dupage counties. our attorneys offer phone consultations on a wide variety of traffic tickets. Contact us today to discuss your case.
See also: How Much Does a Dermatologist Visit Cost? What to Expect – K Health