If you own a car that is registered in the state of Georgia, you must have a minimum amount of auto insurance. Driving without car insurance is illegal in Georgia, and if you are caught, you will face serious consequences. It is important for drivers to understand the state auto insurance laws and the penalty for driving without insurance in Georgia.
georgia auto insurance laws
Georgia’s auto insurance laws state that drivers must have insurance and maintain ongoing insurance to legally operate their vehicle. drivers must have 25/50/25 personal liability insurance, which includes:
- $25,000 bodily injury liability per person
- $50,000 bodily injury liability per accident
- $25,000 property damage liability per accident
what is the best car insurance in georgia?
how much does car insurance cost in georgia?
is georgia a no-fault state?
In addition, Georgia law requires drivers to carry proof of insurance in their vehicle at all times. If a law enforcement officer asks to see proof of insurance and you cannot provide acceptable documentation, he or she will face penalties. In Georgia, both physical and electronic proof of insurance are allowed.
penalties for driving without insurance in georgia
driving uninsured in georgia may seem like a tempting cost-saving measure, but the consequences of doing so can exceed what you’d pay to buy a policy. Below are some of the penalties for driving without insurance in Georgia.
also, driving without insurance in georgia is punishable as a misdemeanor. In most states, drivers whose license is suspended after an insurance-related crime can get their license back after showing proof of insurance. But in Georgia, this is not the case. Georgia law states that drivers whose license is revoked may not drive for the entire suspension period. After the suspension period ends, the driver would have to pay a license reinstatement fee to legally drive again.
Georgia drivers who lose their license after an insurance-related suspension may also be required to file a form sr-22, which is a certificate proving you meet the state’s minimum liability insurance requirement. . In Georgia, an SR-22 will remain on your registration for three years. having an sr-22 on your record will significantly increase your auto insurance rates until the certificate is no longer required.
When you consider the ramifications, driving without insurance puts you at considerable personal and financial risk if you’re caught. If cost is a concern, consider comparing quotes from the cheapest auto insurance companies in Georgia to find a policy that fits your budget.
having an accident without insurance in georgia
having an at-fault accident without insurance in georgia could have a disastrous impact on your finances. in this case, you would have to pay out of pocket for any injury or damage you cause, in addition to legal fees. Accidents can cause tens of thousands of dollars (or more) in injuries alone, and if you don’t have enough cash to pay, you could be forced to sell your property or liquidate your retirement savings.
If you’re hit by an insured driver, but you don’t have your own insurance policy, you may be able to sue the other driver for your losses. Georgia does not have a no pay, no play law, which generally prohibits uninsured drivers from collecting money from an insured driver who hits them. however, there may be a limit to the amount of money you can recover from an insured driver.
The other caveat to this rule is that you cannot legally sue an insured driver for accident-related losses if you are 50% or more at fault for the crash. Georgia follows a modified comparative negligence law to assign fault and financial responsibility after an accident. If you are 49% or less at fault, you have grounds to sue the insured driver.
Suing another driver for your losses means you could get reimbursed for your medical bills or vehicle damage. however, you would be financially responsible for the cost of your legal defense, which is normally covered by liability insurance. Even if you take the insured driver to court and win, most of the settlement money could go toward attorney fees, leaving you with little remaining funds. Ultimately, drivers in Georgia should not assume that a no-fault accident will be covered by the other driver’s insurance company.