per arkansas code § 27-19-713 under the motor vehicle safety liability law, valid proof of insurance is an essential condition for owning and operating a car in the state . Failure to comply can result in serious penalties, including heavy financial penalties and jail time.
penalties for driving without insurance in arkansas
arkansas requires motorists to carry liability coverage for each vehicle registered in their name, at least for the minimum limits of 25/50/25. The Arkansas Bureau of Motor Vehicles (OMV) can learn who might be violating this law when you’re caught driving without insurance or verified as a negligent policyholder through the state’s insurance reporting system.
Reading: How much is a no insurance ticket in arkansas
stuck without insurance on the road
You may receive a roadside citation if you fail to present an auto insurance identification card or the policy itself at a roadside checkpoint. This can happen for a number of reasons, including being pulled over for a minor traffic violation or during an accident that you may or may not have caused.
If you are caught driving without coverage for the first time, you can be fined between $50 and $250. In addition, the traffic officer on the scene can remove the plates. he will give you a temporary bumper sticker that will allow you to use your car for the next 10 days. If he is able to produce adequate proof of insurance within the allotted 10 days, the penalty will be waived and the tags will be returned to him free of charge. however, if he fails to do so, the Arkansas Driver Services Bureau will suspend his registration.
Your second insurance law offense will cost you no less than $250 and no more than $500 in fines. As before, your plates will be removed and the same 10-day sticker will be placed on the back of your car in place of the confiscated plates. If you can provide proof of insurance within 10 days, you can avoid having your registration suspended. Unfortunately, this will not prevent you from paying the mandatory minimum fine.
See also: Home Insurance in Las Vegas | Hippo
In the event you miss the required deadline for a renewed policy or sr-22 filing, you will lose your driving privileges. at this point, the same reinstatement requirements mentioned above will apply.
third offense and subsequent
Going against arkansas insurance law for the third time is classified as a class c misdemeanor. this means that as a habitual offender, you can be penalized with a large fine ranging from $500 to $1,000, plus jail time for a full year.
Even if you submit proof of insurance within 10 days of your citation, this does not exempt you from paying the mandatory fine you were assessed. In addition, he cannot begin the process of reinstating his driving privileges unless he has served his time in jail.
in an accident
Without a doubt, the biggest monetary hassle you can face when driving without insurance is when you’re caught in the middle of a collision. Arkansas is a fault based state. If you are at fault for causing an accident and lack the protection of liability coverage, you will be found guilty of a class A misdemeanor.
In addition to paying out-of-pocket for the other party’s personal injury and property damage, you will suffer penalties for your traffic violation, such as reckless driving, that caused the accident. Insurance penalties will also apply here, including having your car impounded and paying towing and storage fees.
no insurance verified in the database
See also: Claims made against you | Legal Aid WA
Arkansas OMV also has a program that requires all licensed insurance companies to report the status of each auto insurance policy purchased through them. this is a strict regulation that fines carriers $250 for each day they fail to file monthly reports with the state. if your policy has an expiration date of three months and this information appears in the database, the omv will send you a notice of non-compliance. You must respond to this notice with proof of insurance within 30 days. if you can’t, your registration will be suspended.
You can only claim your driving privileges by presenting a valid insurance policy or an SR-22 filed by your insurer. Along with this, you will need to pay the $50 reinstatement fee; registration fee from $17 to $30 (difference depending on the size of your car); and $3 for every 10 days that you have not met the requirements for registration renewal.
reapply for auto insurance in arkansas
Although all drivers in Arkansas must be insured, Arkansas auto insurance companies have the right to refuse coverage to those who are considered high-risk drivers. you are labeled “high risk” when a major traffic violation is found on your driving record; insurance lapse records are one of them.
If you’re having trouble finding an auto insurance company, you can apply for insurance through the Arkansas Auto Insurance Plan.