Your driver’s license can be suspended if you’re caught driving without any car insurance. In Georgia, you must maintain minimum insurance coverage on an ongoing basis, without breaks or interruptions.
If you are caught, you could face misdemeanor charges that will go on your permanent record, as well as other fines and penalties. You may also face high out-of-pocket costs if you have an accident.
Reading: How long do they suspend your license for no insurance
penalties for driving without insurance
As the Fire Safety and Insurance Commissioner’s Office noted, Georgia requires every motorist to have coverage that offers at least:
- $25,000 bodily injury liability coverage per person
- $50,000 bodily injury liability coverage per incident
- $25,000 in property damage liability coverage per incident
- 60-90 day license suspension
- fines ranging from $25 to $1,000
- loss of vehicle registration
- medical bills
- lost wages
- property damage
- pain and suffering
- other non-economic damages
- fines for lack of coverage
- transport costs
- license reinstatement fees
Not having this minimum amount of coverage could have a variety of consequences. In addition to misdemeanor charges, you could face:
How long you will lose certain privileges and how much you have to pay depends on the circumstances. For example, a simple lapse in coverage if you forget to renew your insurance will likely result in lower penalties. if you go 10 consecutive days without coverage, you will be charged $25. however, you could be charged $160 for going 30 consecutive days without coverage, according to the georgia department of revenue (dor).
Higher fines come into play if you are pulled over while driving without insurance. If you are convicted of the misdemeanor charge, you may be required to pay between $200 and $1,000 depending on O.C.G.A. § 40-6-10. that on top of possibly facing the consequences of the violation that led to the traffic stop in the first place.
your transportation options may be limited
See also: Does Car Insurance Cover Hail Damage? – Forbes Advisor
In addition to these payments, having your license suspended and losing your vehicle registration will also cost you money and time. you will have to take public transportation or carpool or seek rides from friends or family.
Also, restoring your license is at your own cost. For a first offense, it is $200-$210. For a second offense within a five-year period, you could pay $300-$310 to get your O.C.G.A. license back. § 40-5-70.
Is there a grace period for gaps in coverage?
Although Georgia law requires continuous and uninterrupted coverage, gaps sometimes occur. As a result, there is a short grace period during which you can renew your insurance coverage.
You have 30 days to obtain new insurance coverage. if you don’t do it on time, you can face some of the same penalties as someone who forgoes insurance altogether. these could include a $25 fee and suspension of your license.
the additional risks of driving without insurance
Having your license suspended for not having insurance, as well as the other penalties, may be your main concern. however, lack of insurance can also have other repercussions. If you are in a car accident, you will face consequences for not having insurance. you may also have to pay expenses related to the accident.
If the other driver was at fault, you may be able to recover your losses through the other driver’s insurance or by filing a personal injury lawsuit. these actions require proving that the other driver was negligent in some way. You will also have to show that you behaved in a way that caused his injury.
See also: Turning 26: Can you stay under parents health insurance plan ?
Common reasons are drunk driving, running a red light, or following too closely. however, you may need to pay upfront and be reimbursed later. even worse is if you are at fault for the accident. in that case, you could be liable for the other driver’s accident losses in addition to your own.
costs you may face after a crash
The more severe the injury, the more money is required for treatment. When accidents cause permanent disability, the negligent party may be responsible for lifetime expenses. If you were responsible for the accident, the other party could claim non-economic damages, such as pain, suffering, and mental anguish.
Therefore, if you choose to drive without car insurance in Georgia, you are looking at a list of possible expenses that includes:
Car insurance is required by law to protect everyone from serious financial consequences. Injured parties can get paid for their treatment, while at-fault drivers are protected from having to pay out of pocket.
Get informed and get coverage to avoid penalties
yes, you can suspend your license for driving without insurance in georgia. more than that, however, you could face criminal charges as well as serious financial liability.
If you have any questions about the consequences of driving without insurance, call kaine law today for a free consultation at (404) 214-2001.
call or text 404-214-2001 or fill out a free case evaluation form
See also: What Does an Unemployment Claim Cost an Employer? | UIS